LEGAL NOTICE June 29th 2021

STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES

Adult Day Health, Assisted Living Facilities, Assisted Living Programs,
Comprehensive Personal Care Homes, and Personal Care Assistant Services,
Rates

TAKE NOTICE the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), Division
of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) intends to seek approval from the
United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS), for the following amendments to the New Jersey Medicaid
(Title XIX) State Plan in order to in order to implement budget provisions subject to the
passage of the New Jersey Fiscal Year 2022 Appropriations Act.

Notwithstanding the provisions of N.J.A.C.10:49-7.1 et seq. or any other law or
regulation to the contrary, DHS intends to seek any required amendments subject to
approval by CMS:

(1) increasing per diem rates for assisted living facilities, comprehensive personal
care homes, and assisted living programs, to a fee-for service per diem rate of $87, $77,
and $67, respectively. The estimated total costs for SFY 2022 and SFY 2023 are
projected to be $920,000 ($460,000 State share) and $920,000 ($460,000 State share)
respectively.

(2) increasing the minimum fee-for-service and managed care per diem
reimbursement rates for adult medical day care providers to $86.10 for adult medical day
care services. The estimated total costs for SFY 2022 and SFY 2023 are projected to be
$30,000 ($14,000 State share) and $30,000 ($14,000 State share) respectively.

(3) increasing the fee-for-service personal care assistant services hourly rate to
$22. The estimated total costs for SFY 2022 and SFY 2023 are projected to be $51,000
($24,000 State share) and $51,000 ($24,000 State share) respectively.

The fee schedules will be published on the Department’s fiscal agent’s website at
https://www.njmmis.com under “rate and code information” when available.

This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal statutes and
regulations, specifically 42 CFR 447.205, and 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this
Notice is available for public review at the Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County
Welfare Agencies, and the Department’s website at:

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html.



http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html

Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this
notice to:
Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services
Office of Legal & Regulatory Affairs
Attention: Margaret Rose
P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712
Fax: 609-588-7343
E-mail: Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us
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